ICC World Cup 2023

The ICC World Cup 2023 is just around the corner, and cricket enthusiasts worldwide are eagerly awaiting this prestigious event. In this article, we’ll dive into what you can expect from the ICC World Cup 2023, from the participating teams and venues to the potential standout players and key matchups. So, grab your cricket gear and get ready for an exciting preview of this highly anticipated tournament.


The ICC World Cup is the pinnacle of one-day international (ODI) cricket, bringing together the best teams from around the globe to compete for cricketing glory. The 2023 edition promises to be a cricket extravaganza like no other. Here’s a preview of what lies ahead for you:

Participating Teams

The ICC World Cup 2023 will feature a total of 10 teams, ensuring fierce competition throughout the tournament. These teams have secured their spots through rigorous qualifiers and are ready to showcase their talent on the world stage.

  1. India: The host nation always carries the weight of expectations, and India is no exception. With a passionate fan base and a formidable team, India will be a force to reckon with.
  2. Australia: The defending champions will be looking to retain their title and continue their dominance in the world of cricket.
  3. England: The inventors of the sport, aim to secure another World Cup for their trophy cabinet.
  4. Pakistan: Known for their unpredictable nature, Pakistan has the ability to surprise any opponent on their day.
  5. South Africa: The Proteas are known for their consistency and will be aiming for a strong campaign.
  6. West Indies: The Windies have always been a powerhouse in limited-overs cricket, with their explosive batting lineup.
  7. New Zealand: The Kiwis team, have earned a strong following due to their reputation for fair play and exemplary sportsmanship.
  8. Sri Lanka: The 1996 champions have a rich cricketing history and will look to create more magic in 2023.
  9. Bangladesh: With their rising talent, Bangladesh is a team on the upswing, capable of causing upsets.
  10. Afghanistan: The underdogs of the tournament, Afghanistan’s spin-heavy attack can pose a threat to any team.


The ICC World Cup 2023 will take place at multiple venues in India, offering fans the opportunity to witness the action live. Some of the iconic stadiums include:

  • Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai: Known for its electric atmosphere and sea-facing view, this stadium is a cricketing paradise.
  • Eden Gardens, Kolkata: With a seating capacity of over 66,000, this historic ground is a must-visit for cricket enthusiasts.
  • M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru: Famous for its batting-friendly pitches, this stadium promises high-scoring matches.
  • The Rose Bowl, Southampton: One of the venues in England, known for its lush green outfield and picturesque setting.

Standout Players

Every ICC World Cup introduces us to new cricketing heroes and reaffirms the greatness of established ones. Keep an eye on these potential standout players:

  • Virat Kohli (India): The Indian batsman earns recognition for his consistency and possesses a talent for delivering under pressure.
  • Steve Smith (Australia): A batting maestro, Smith’s unorthodox style can mesmerize fans and frustrate bowlers.
  • Ben Stokes (England): The dynamic all-rounder can single-handedly change the course of a match with his batting and bowling.
  • Babar Azam (Pakistan): Cricketing legends have drawn comparisons to Babar’s elegant stroke play, and he’s poised to shine on the big stage.

Key Matchups

The ICC World Cup always delivers intense matchups that keep fans on the edge of their seats. Here are a few of the highly awaited confrontations:

  • India vs. Pakistan: The mother of all cricketing rivalries, this match is more than just a game; it’s an emotion.
  • Australia vs. England: A battle between the old foes that promises explosive cricket.
  • South Africa vs. New Zealand: Both teams have a reputation for fair play, turning this contest into a cricketing spectacle.
  • West Indies vs. Sri Lanka: Expect a power-packed encounter with plenty of sixes.


The ICC World Cup 2023 is gearing up to be a cricketing carnival that will capture the hearts of fans worldwide. With its stellar lineup of teams, iconic venues, and the promise of breathtaking cricket, you shouldn’t miss this tournament.


When does the ICC World Cup 2023 begin?

The ICC World Cup 2023 is scheduled to kick off on 5-oct, with the opening match between England vs New Zealand.

How can I buy tickets for the matches?

You can buy tickets for the ICC World Cup 2023 matches online via official ticketing platforms.

Which player holds the record for the most centuries in ICC World Cup history?

The record for the most centuries in ICC World Cup history is held by Rohit Sharma, with 6 centuries.

Will there be any day-night matches in the tournament?

Yes, there will be day-night matches in the ICC World Cup 2023 to accommodate fans and enhance the viewing experience.

What is the format of the tournament?

The ICC World Cup 2023 will feature a round-robin group stage, followed by semi-finals and a final, ensuring a fair and exciting competition.

Scroll to Top